Ain’t Torn Between 2 Lovers: Marc Jacobs Lovemarc Lip Gel in 134 Showstopper & Magic Marc’er Precision Pen Eyeliner

While some make up junkies are left feeling a little lost with the infamous liquid foundation that Marc Jacobs has to offer, I hope today’s post will be helpful for you beauties out there to determine what to go for if you happen to be at MJ counter in Sephora. I have two MJ products to share with you today, and let’s begin with the first which is Lovemarc Lip Gel.

MJ Lovemarc Lip Gel 134

MJ Lovemarc Lip Gel 134

A lip gel, unlike the conventional lipsticks that are matte or creamy in formula, is of a different formula in which the product glides like butter, melting onto the lips  while being lightweight and offering opaque coverage. I had tried one from Laura Mercier two years back, and I must say lip gels are heaven-sent if you suffer from dry lips. However, the lip gel from LM was discontinued, which left me hartbroken, and I have been missing it ever since. I was eager to find out how Lovemarc Lip Gel in Showstopper (134) would rekindle my love for lip gels.

MJ Lovemarc Lip Gel 134

Housed in a shiny yet classy, ruby red case that comes with a magnetic closure, Showstopper was described to be the classic red that leans towards warm. On me, I see a medium-dark, brick red that has brown undertones. Some may call Showstopper their “perfect” red, but this shade is a little dark on me, which made me look a little “vamp-y”; I like it.

MJ Lovemarc Lip Gel 134

The formula lasted on me for 6 hours through drinks and light snacks (very impressive for a lip gel!) although it faded a little unevenly on me. I had to also point out that due to my dry lips, it somehow feathered on me a little, so a lip liner is definitely needed if I were to have Showstopper on me for the whole day.

MJ Lovemarc Lip Gel 134

As a lip gel, it did glide like butter, and the shade look smooth and shiny on the lips. That being said, I did not “feel” Showstopper was particularly hydrating or drying on the lips. I am glad enough that at least my lips did not scream for hydration upon removing it at the end of the day.

MJ Magic Marc'er

MJ Magic Marc'er

The 2nd item I would love to talk to you here is the ONE I LOVE. It is the MAGIC MARC’ER (magic marker, seriously?) Precision Pen Eyeliner in No.10 Blacquer. Apparently, that is the only shade that MJ has to offer now. This pen eye liner comes in a black lacquered pen with a pull-on/off cap. The felt-tip applicator is sharp, and the formula is very liquidy, very black, and very “strong”!

Pardon my drawing skills!

Pardon my drawing skills!

Rubbed like a frantic woman using water

Rubbed like a frantic woman using water

The last criterion mentioned above was due to the fact that it has excellent staying power as it will NOT budge or smudge or flake or fade UNTIL I removed it with my cleansing oil. This waterproof eye liner also gives a subtle sheen to add to the intensity of the shade.

With the Precision Pen Eye liner, I could still draw a thin line easily!

With the Precision Pen Eye liner, I could still draw a thin line easily!

As my fingers are always slightly shivering, I have always find it difficult to use a liquid eye liner, and Magic Marc’er Precision Pen Eyeliner could be tricky as it requires steady hands, but that should NOT be the fault of the product, anyway. The only thing that should be brought to light is that sometimes when I layer on to create a thicker line, the liquidy formula takes a little while to dry completely.

Still, I love the heavy-duty Magic Marc’er Precision Pen Eyeliner as this is really a superb product for the price of RM89.  If you wish to get something from MJ below RM100, this is THE ONE. On the other hand, Lovemarc Lip Gel in Showstopper 134 is currently sold for RM95. Marc Jacobs Beauty is now available at Sephora Malaysia.

 

With love,

LY

8 thoughts on “Ain’t Torn Between 2 Lovers: Marc Jacobs Lovemarc Lip Gel in 134 Showstopper & Magic Marc’er Precision Pen Eyeliner

  1. Pingback: You Can Never Be Shameless with Marc Jacobs Shameless Bold Blush in Outspoken 212 | Engaged With Beauty

    • Oh yes his packaging is so sleek, minimalist yet appealing. The lip gel stains evenly, so if you’re the daring kind, I don’t see why not cos I sometimes use my lipsticks as a cream blush. I have not tried this one on the cheeks, though! ^^

Leave a comment