You Don’t Need to be a Genius to Appreciate Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation!

Marc Jacobs Beauty has finally hit Sephora Malaysia, and being a sucker for luxurious packaging, I wasted no time to get my hands on some of its sleek-looking makeup items. Today I have Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation, a buoyancy gel to awaken the skin to translucency and clarity, to share with you.

Marc Jacobs Beauty is now available at Sephora Malaysia!

Marc Jacobs Beauty is now available at Sephora Malaysia!

I an a M.A.C. NC15-20 (check my beauty profile here), and my shade for this liquid foundation is No. 26, Bisque Medium. There are 16 shades to choose from, and I would strongly suggest that one drops by at the counter in Sephora outlet to find the right shade.

No.26 Bisque Medium

No.26 Bisque Medium

The texture is really light and a little runny. I find MJ Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation full of surprises. For one, this foundation is buildable, and do not expect to get full coverage when you apply with only 1 pump. I found the coverage sheer to begin with, but once dried, I could layer on for higher coverage using a foundation brush. Although the foundation is lightweight and buildable, my face did NOT feel heavy as if there was a mask on.

Marc Jacobs Beauty

However, MJ Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation caught me by surprise as it did grab onto the occasional occurrence of dry patches on my nose area. Also,  a lot of blending is required when I wanted to layer on as the initial coverage was sheer and the formula does have some slip in it. Claimed to offer supreme hydration for even application and luxurious wear, I personally did not find this foundation moisturising or drying.

This is what you get from the 1st pump.

This is what you get from the 1st pump.

MJ Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation lasted 10 hours on me with primer and setting powder on, and I like that this foundation has a natural finish. What’s more is that it could brilliantly “tune” itself into dewy mode (without being oily) depending on the primer/sunscreen used beforehand. How genius is that?

Despite its sleek look, promising description, and unique formula, I dislike the scent. My picky nose could detect a slight “lacquered” scent, almost similar to nail polishes! Although it did not linger on my skin when I applied the foundation, I could not help but to imagine applying paint onto my face (erm… although figuratively, some people do regard foundation as face paint), LOL!

How it looks with 1 pump and with blending by using fingers. No primer, concealer or highlighter used.

How it looks with 1 pump and with blending by using fingers. No primer, concealer or highlighter used.

For RM189 per bottle, I would say this is an awesome buy if you have normal or combination skin without issues with pores and blemishes because it will not “brilliantly” show the flaws if one has a smooth base for a perfect canvas. Otherwise, protect your wallet from Marc Jacobs Beauty for its cool packaging!

Have you tried using MJ Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation, or do you have a favourite MJ makeup item to recommend?

 

With love,

LY

 

4 thoughts on “You Don’t Need to be a Genius to Appreciate Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation!

  1. Tested this too but am a bit ambivalent about it. Felt it to be rather pricey, taking into account similar brands in the price range, although the buildable texture thing is quite nice. I’m going to sniff at it the next time I use it to see if I detect the lacquer scent. Didn’t jump out at me the first time but now that you mention it…

    • Hi Paris *waves*,

      Yes, I agree that it is pricey, and there are just many liquid foundations out there with cheaper alternatives, but…. one good thing is that it looks really natural.. The lacquer scent is not too strong, but it still bug me even though all my liquid foundation has some scent, but they are still pleasant. I am glad that I give this a try, though. I like that the coverage is buildable, and it does not make me feel uncomfortable too no matter how much I layer on. Let me know if you wanna try it, I will send a pot to over. ^^

  2. Pingback: Ain’t Torn Between 2 Lovers: Marc Jacobs Lovemarc Lip Gel in 134 Showstopper & Magic Marc’er Precision Pen Eyeliner | Engaged With Beauty

  3. Pingback: You Can Never Be Shameless with Marc Jacobs Shameless Bold Blush in Outspoken 212 | Engaged With Beauty

Leave a Reply

