Estee Lauder Double Wear Light: Lightweight, buildable coverage, and what more?

Hi lovelies,

I have always wanted to share my thoughts on one of Estee Lauder’s best-selling liquid foundations, the Double Wear Light, for months now, but I have never gotten the right method to make good use of it until lately. As the name suggests, Double Wear Light offers medium coverage with a lighter feel compared to the well-known Double Wear Foundation that offers a full coverage.

Convenient tube packaging

Convenient tube packaging

It was claimed that Double Wear Light is a long wearing foundation that can last up to 15 hours. I had tried using this foundation up to 12 hours at work, and I must say I am quite impressed that my skin feels comfortable and can breathe easily as the foundation is really lightweight. However, did it stay on for 12 hours without cracking? Yes and No. Yes, you read it right.

Shade: Intensity 1.5

Shade: Intensity 1.5

Living in a tropical country and having combination skin can sometimes be a pain in the neck when it comes to searching for a lightweight liquid foundation that stays put and comfortable for hours. I will tick the second criterion (comfortable) for this Double Wear Light, but on my skin, I had to use a makeup primer to get the best out of this foundation. When I applied this liquid foundation with my fingers, I get sheer coverage that leans a little to medium whereas with my foundation brush, I could easily get medium coverage. Without a makeup primer and by the 10th hour, I noticed slight fading and cracking at the facial lines that I thought I never had!

Still, I have to give credit to the foundation as Double Wear Light is really lightweight, and once I prepped my skin with a primer/makeup base (I will be reviewing my go-to primer soon), everything is fine and lovely. The finish of Double Wear Light is semi-matte that looks really natural, and it controls oil very well as I only needed to blot my oily T-zone once the whole day.

Wearing Double Wear Light

Wearing Double Wear Light

The fragrance-free Double Wear Light has SPF10, which does nothing in terms of sun protection to anyone living in Asia, seriously, but the good thing is that lower SPF will not leave a white cast on the face in the photographs. What’s not to like about this foundation? I also find the price point of RM145 for 30ml reasonable because I could easily get medium coverage with little product.

If you want a non-acnegenic, fragrance-free, oil-free, lightweight liquid foundation with low SPF that offers medium coverage and natural finish, why not try Double Wear Light?

 

 

With love,

LY

Leave a Reply

