Get Better Skin with Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

2014 is the year for cream blushes and treatment lotions! I currently own only one cream blush that I love to bits (reviewed here), and I have yet to look for more because most of the time, I still prefer a powder blush that comes with a complimentary brush. The same applies to treatment lotions, which are meant to be applied before face serum/essence and after cleansing, without the toner. Although a treatment lotion is not designed to “replace” a facial toner per se, it is thought to be an essence-packed lotion (similar to the concept of a mask-in lotion, reviewed here) that repairs and hydrates the skin.

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion, which is formulated for Asian skins, is designed to:

Retain – Moisture is retained as it instantly hydrate and plump the skin.

Release – Luminosity is released from within, for a healthy radiance.

Regulate – Skin texture is regulated, so one will have smoother, softer skin in 4 weeks.

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

This essence lotion promises to establish the foundation for healthy, radiant skin with a new NWF Complex that helps increase production of the essential building blocks of skin’s natural moisturizing factors (NWFs). Also, it improves overall clarity and luminosity of the skin with brightening ingredients. Supposedly to work in synergy with Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector, which is a popular face serum of the same range, Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion will fully moisturise the skin for the face serum to work at its best.

Clinique understood better as they know customers’ skin concerns by customising two distinct formulas for different skin types:

Skin Type 1 & 2 (dry to very dry skin) – special hydrators such as olive squalane, barley, wheat germ extracts, and jojoba esters

Skin Type 3 & 4 (combination to oily skin) – laminaria saccharina extract to normalise excess sebum production

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

I have Skin Type 1 & 2 with me, and I was more than pleased to NOT see Alcohol in my essence lotion. Rather, it has the very faint barley scent. I was supposed to get Skin Type 3 & 4 instead as I have combination skin, but I was crazy. I gave my skin a silly challenge – to see how my skin would react with such a luxurious milky texture (think: Barley drink) of the essence lotion for dry or very dry skin.

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

I had only used this every day for three weeks, and that was ALL I used. To apply Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion, I put a few drops on my palm, warmed it around my palm, and gently pressed it on my face. Then I would follow up with a face serum once the essence lotion dried up. The essence lotion did not leave my skin uncomfortable or sticky in any way.

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

I have read that since that it is quite difficult to get the essence lotion out of the solid bottle packaging due to the thick emulsion texture; however, I thought otherwise. Yes, the solid bottle makes it impossible to squeeze the essence lotion out, but all I did was to tap the top of the bottle or shake the bottle for the essence lotion to drop onto my palm. At least for me, the bottle PREVENTS consumers from dispensing TOO MUCH for the face. What’s more, the cap of the bottle seems to work very well with the collar of the bottle as the cap could be fastened when screwed to prevent spillage when travelling. The design of the bottle makes it very travel-friendly (light) and travel-safe (no leakage); I like it!

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion

After three weeks, I see a nicely hydrated and slightly brightened skin. I have always felt my skin was more supple and smooth when I used Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion. It DID make my skin feel better, but since my skin tends to have a bitter relationship with Squalane, I had noticed spots on areas that had never existed before. It was my fault for ignoring that formula that was meant for dry skin types, and I do not blame the essence lotion for that. I had gotten and used some sample sachets of Type 3 & 4 and found that my skin did not react to any of the ingredients in that formula. Lesson learnt; I shall be LESS mischievous!

Currently priced at RM 125 for a bottle of 150ml, I find Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion a steal! Not only it preps the skin very wells for face serum application, but that bottle can surely last a long time (considering the amount used as shown above).

 

With love,

LY

Leave a Reply

