Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Mightiest Maraschino Vs. Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Provocateur/Femme Fatale

Today, I am going to talk about Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in the shade known as Mightiest Maraschino that was a complimentary gift upon making some online purchases here. This chubby stick is not something new as it has been available at all Clinique counters for awhile now. I will also make some comparison of this with another packaging look-alike, which is Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Provocateur/Femme Fatale (reviewed here). The chubby stick from Clinique is my very first chubby stick from that brand, and I did not now why I never check them out earlier despite the raves across the blogsphere.  Since Mightiest Maraschino was a gift, I was happy; what other better way to try a product, right? In fact, I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you about this product here. Do I like Mightiest Marashino? Which do I prefer; was it Clinique’s or Revlon’s?

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense Mightiest Maraschino

Left: Revlon Colorburst in Provocateur; Right: Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Mightiest Maraschino

Left: Revlon Colorburst in Provocateur; Right: Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Mightiest Maraschino

Using Clinique Chubby Stick Intense is Mightiest Maraschino the very first time impressed me with its intense pigmentation. Unlike Revlon Colorbust Lacquer Balm in Provocative that offers buildable coverage, the nearly opaque colour coverage of Mightiest Maraschino needs no layering as the colour as the first swipe itself packs a great punch of colour. Both does not require a lip balm underneath to protect the lips because they are not drying; however, I personally found Provocateur to have the added advantage for being a tinge more hydrating on the lips. As I had mentioned before, Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balms have that slight tingling sensation, which does not bother me but is something that some may want to avoid. If you do not like any tingling sensation on your lips, then the Chubby Stick would be a good bet for you. Another point I need to voice here is the scent, and I have to admit that I am not a fan of the scent of Mightiest Maraschino, unfortunately. I could not put hold of the scent, but it reminded me of those lipsticks my grandmother had in the past. Provocateur has a more pleasant scent of mint, so I would, again, pat on Provocateur’s shoulders (if it had one) for that!

Left: Mightiest Maraschino; Right: Provocateur

Left: Mightiest Maraschino; Right: Provocateur

See how close both shades are? Mightiest Maraschino was drawn only ONCE, but Provocateur was swiped four times to match closely with the former. Mightiest Maraschino is a true cherry red with strong blue undertones, even stronger than Provocateur’s. Mightiest Maraschino would be really convenient for those who do not enjoy taking their own time to layer lip colour as this reflects its name very well – Chubby Stick INTENSE. Arithmetically, the Chubby Stick that is retailed at RM 60 would be more economical to have than Provocateur that is sold at RM35.90 because I require lesser retouching or layering for a fully opaque lips.

Wearing only my Mightiest Maraschino, which is not really my hero!

Wearing only my Mightiest Maraschino, which is not really my hero!

Still, I would pick Provocateur over Mightiest Maraschino for the following two reasons that were bugging me while wearing the chubby stick. I noticed that Mightiest Maraschino does give the obvious RING around the lip area after drinking or eating, and even when I pressed my lips together to make the ring less obvious, it does not look flattering due to the colour at the lip line that was already intense. Provocateur, in contrast, was a breeze when I consumed anything because it did NOT give me that ring I dread. Secondly, I couldn’t help but to “feel” that the creamy formula in Mightiest Maraschino which gave me a heavier feeling on the lips than Provocateur did. I really did not get much love from Mightiest Maraschino at all, and I believe Mightiest Maraschino will be the only chubby stick from Clinique that I would own at the current moment. Honestly, I feel like I am the only one who does NOT get it, really.

 

Have you used Clinique Chubby Sticks, and why do you like it? Or do you prefer Revlon’s version of “chubby sticks”?

 

With love,

LY

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

