Review: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation No.1 Medium Pink

My last post before this was about Sulwhasoo’s most recent offering in makeup, which is Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Foundation (reviewed here). Knowing that Sulwhasoo makes premium skin care, its foundation did not disappoint me either. Today I have with me is the Evenfair Smoothing Foundation in shade No.1 (Medium Pink), also from Sulwhasoo. Described as a creamy-soft foundation to gently embrace the skin for a subtle radiance, did this impress me as much as its cushion foundation I’d tried earlier? After all, both foundations share the same price point, RM180. Well, read on to find out!Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing FoundationSulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation

Housed in a thick and sturdy plastic bottle, the packaging looks pretty solid and elegant with its golden cap on top. The embossing of its brand name at the top of the cap is rather old school, but I like it. The bottle comes in the regular size of a foundation, which is 30ml, and it has a pump dispenser for hygiene purposes.

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation

Packaging aside, Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation has a lower SPF protection of SPF 25 than its cushion foundation that has SPF50. I have no problem with a foundation with low sun protection because the higher SPF it contains, it may reflect flashback photos, which will give a ghostly appearance.

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation

Now this foundation claimed to have anti-wrinkle properties and to protect the skin from external stress for long-lasting suppleness and revitalization. I had recently tried wearing it for 9 hours, and I have to admit that its creamy-soft texture gently wraps around the skin for an even coverage without cakiness. I applied this foundation right after Shiseido Perfect UV Protector sunblock, and that means I applied no primer beforehand, yet I do not see the foundation fade or seep into facial lines! After the whole day at work??? How lovely! Like its cushion foundation, Evenfair Smoothing Foundation fits its name perfectly for its anti-wrinkle properties. Not that I have wrinkles, but I noticed some “polite” signs of aging at my face, and this foundation somehow softens the entire look.

Left: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Foundation in No.21 Medium Pink; Right: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation in No.1 Medium Pink

Left: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Foundation in No.21 Medium Pink; Right: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation in No.1 Medium Pink

I have applied this foundation with a foundation brush and my fingers, and I find both works equally well; however I did find that I have to use a little more product when I used my fingers. Once it sets on the skin, I see a slight of dewiness, which oily skin types may want to consider. Using a setting powder after Evenfair Smoothing Foundation is definitely a must if you live in a tropical or blazing hot country like Malaysia. I have oily T-Zone, but I did NOT find myself blotting away because the entire foundation just became dewy and hugs nicely on the skin like second skin. Anyway, if you are worried about its strong ginseng scent that makes it a signature for the brand, you need not worry because the scent in this bottle is rather subtle.

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation reminds me of a favourite of mine (reviewed here), but this definitely has more smoothness and coverage in it. This foundation, to me, would be great for dry skin types or for those who need a comfortable, dewy foundation during winter. Now available in Parkson Pavilion KL, Parkson Gurney Penang, and Parkson 1 Utama, do give this a try and let me know! Sulwhasoo, you made me LOVE Korean makeup now! ^^

 

With love,

LY

 

Leave a Reply

