Empties of the Month (March 2014)!

Hola lovelies!

 

I have been really busy with work and family this entire week, and it is such a pain knowing that I could not steal time to post anything here! Anyway, it is approaching the end of March now, and I have the Empties of the Month to share with you today. Tadah!

Empties of the Month (March 2014)

1. L’occitane 5 Essential Oils Soothing Shampoo 300ml

2. Chanel UV Essentiel Complete Daily UV Protection Anti-Pollution SPF50/PA+++ 30ml

3. Eve Lom Eye Cream 20ml

4. Melvita Milky Cleansing Oil 35ml (Travel Size)

5. Dior Lip Maximizer Collagen-Activ

Empties of the Month (March 2014)

I have dry/damaged hair due to excessive heat and colouring, but I did not have much luck with any shampoos from L’occitane except THIS one. I thought I would never need anything soothing since I do not have sensitive scalp, but I was wrong. A kind SA advised me to consider using the soothing shampoo as the first step to improve the condition of the irritated scalp before proceeding to repair or replenish the hair. Apparently, dry hair may also have oily scalp, and that was what I had faced before using this. She was right; my hair was cleansed well without being stripped, and most importantly my scalp was neither dry, itchy or oily. It became calm. Rest in peace, dandruff.

Empties of the Month (March 2014)

This watery sunscreen was a replacement of my all-time favourite (reviewed here), and I enjoyed the fact that the formula gives a smooth and silky finish, without any white cast on the face although this sunscreen came out off-white. Similar with Shiseido Perfect UV Protector, Chanel’s has to be shaken before use, has SPF50 and makes quite a good base for makeup application. It has the signature fruity-floral scent to this, just lighter, and I am happy to have tried this, but it will take some time until I come back to this since Shiseido works the same with a cheaper price.

Empties of the Month (March 2014)

My first product from Eve Lom was the eye cream, which was gifted to me. Claimed to reduce puffiness and dark circles, while improve hydration and blood circulation, this may seem to me as a good all-rounder for the eyes; however, after finishing a jar of this, I can only agree with hydration but not its other claims. I have heard that this is best paired with its eye lift, but since I have found eye creams that work well ALONE, the chances of me purchasing this is rather low.

Empties of the Month (March 2014)

This organic cleansing oil from Melvita really caught me by surprise! The labels says “milky cleansing oil”, but comes off as thick yellow oil, which bothers me a little as I thought I might need to work more on massaging my skin, but once I added water on my face to emulsify the oil into milk, everything came off. Even my waterproof makeup. My skin was left clean, comfortable and velvety smooth. Price at RM108 for 145ml, this has dethroned my love for Decleor’s Cleansing Oil (reviewed here) that is priced at RM169 for 150ml.

Empties of the Month (March 2014) Empties of the Month (March 2014)

Last but not the least, Dior Lip Maximizer Collagen-Activ was my instant treatment before I put on any matte lipsticks!! No  matter how dry or chapped the lips become, trust me when I say this can save your lips! This vanilla, minty-scent lip maximize gave a glossy finish without adding any colour to the lips, and it tingled for 2-3 minutes upon application. The tingling sensation is nothing unbearable as it does not sting at all, but it improves the condition of the lips as it plumps (cushions) the lips a little without adding the size of your lips. There was only 6g in the product, but it lasted me two months of nightly use. Love!

 

Have you tried any of the above products or did you see any that caught your eye here?

 

With love,

LY

5 thoughts on “Empties of the Month (March 2014)!

  1. You use the lip maximizer before matte lipstick or as a night treatment before going to bed ? If I’m not mistaken, it has some shimmer which is the reason I had not get it. I’m a lip balm/treatment person because of my sensitive lips and for that I seldom wear lipstick.

    • I use this before applying matte lipstick and every night before to sleep, too. Yes, it contained shimmer, but very, very subtle that is barely noticeable, and no grittiness. What I did every morning was to use my toothbrush to lightly exfoliate the lips. The shimmer does not stay on the lips at all. If you have sensitive lips, I hesitate to recommend you this, but Dior has a light pink-tinted lipbalm that is really good, too! Have you tried that?

Leave a Reply

