Yay or Nay: Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Trio – Cleanser, Toner, & Intense Hydration Cream

A million thanks to Mywomenstuff and Kiehl’s Malaysia for sending me a trial pack of one of its best-selling range, the Ultra Facial. I am grateful for your kind thoughts, Paris! The Ultra Facial range has its award-winning moisturizer, which is Ultra Facial Cream that is made suitable for all skin types for continuous moisture replenishment throughout the day even though this daily hydrator has a light texture. Promising 24-hour of comfort and healthy-looking skin at the price point of RM100, it is a no-brainer why this moisturizer is a hit for many.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Trio – Cleanser, Toner, & Intense Hydration Cream

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Trio – Cleanser, Toner, & Intense Hydration Cream

In this pack, however, I have Ultra Facial Cleanser (30ml), Ultra Facial Toner (40ml), and the NEWLY launched Ultra Facial Intense Hydration Cream (15ml). I happily put them to test to see whether they would be a keeper. I will begin with Ultra Facial Cleanser, which is a mild formula, and it claims to thoroughly cleanse the skin and remove make up without over-drying or stripping the skin of its natural oils. Now the combination of Apricot Kernel Oil and Avocado Oil in the ingredients surely got me all fascinated, but Squalane, a naturally occurring substance found in olive oil, has always been one of the key ingredients I would avoid, besides mineral oil, as these two tend to break me out.

Having Sodium Laureth Sulfate in the ingredients does scare me a little.

Having Sodium Laureth Sulfate in the ingredients does scare me a little.

P1100331

Nevertheless, to try I shall and I did. Seeing how thick this semi-transparent cleanser was, I did not use it with dry hands on dry face. Instead, I find it best to apply the cleanser onto wet hands before lathering it up and then apply to the face. I got a well-cleaned face after washing and my pores seemed to be a little tighter, but I would need to quickly follow up with toning and moisturizing after that. Or else, my face do feel a little tight, and although I have used some cleansing gels in my life, this thick gel seems too glue-y for my skin.

Left: Semi-transparent cleanser; Right: Off-white toner

Left: Semi-transparent cleanser; Right: Off-white toner

Ultra Facial Toner

Ultra Facial Toner

Next, Ultra Facial Toner was the one that got me curious since the texture was somewhat watery lotion-like that reminded me of Shiseido softeners. I enjoy the fact that this toner does NOT have any alcohol in it, and it seems pretty gentle even for the sensitive type. Yet, Ultra Facial Toner did not impress me in terms of hydration. This, to me, was more of a basic, gentle toner, and sadly, I need more than that. I would not blame this toner per se for hydration alone because I am spoilt for better choices out there, but if you are looking for an affordable, gentle toner that cleans the skin after washing, this would be it.

Ultra Facial Intense Hydration Cream

Ultra Facial Intense Hydration Cream

P1100335

Similar with its predecessor, Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Intense Hydration Cream has a very lightweight texture despite the label “cream” that might mislead some into thinking that creams are only meant for dry or mature skin type. This is because I have tried the predecessor, Ultra Facial Cream that absorbs really fast and does not leave my skin being greasy at all.

Unlike its award-winning Ultra Facial Cream, this has Alcohol Denat in its ingredients, and that can be a worrying factor to some.

Unlike its award-winning Ultra Facial Cream, this has Alcohol Denat in its ingredients, and that can be a worrying factor to some.

However, the Intense Hydration Cream left me feeling otherwise. I do not have very dry skin, so the cream not only merely sat on top of my face, but it also had a strong alcohol scent that turned me off every time I tried to use it. Alcohols are known to be drying to the skin, so I could not fathom why this Intense Hydration Cream, which was designed for very dry skin, would actually contain alcohol, which is pretty high on top of the ingredient list. I stopped using Intense Hydration Cream three days after trialing it due to these two factors – the greasiness and the scent.

Overall, as much as I hoped for these to work for my dehydrated-combination skin, my skin preferred Ultra Facial Toner over the rest.  Have you tried and adored any products from the Ultra Facial range?

Retail Price in Malaysia:

Ultra Facial Cleanser                                      RM85

Ultra Facial Toner                                           RM85

Ultra Facial Intense Hydration Cream         RM100

With love,

LY

Leave a Reply

