Bobbi Brown Pink Peony Illuminating Bronzer: A bronzer or a blusher?

Bobbi Brown Cosmetics has recently released its Uber Pink Collection where some lovely Limited Edition nail colours, lipsticks, lip glosses and illuminating bronzers that are suitable for day and night were introduced. I was interested with its illuminating Bronzers – Antigua and Pink Peony, and although the Antigua Illuminating Bronzer could be found in BB’s permanent line, this LE Antigua has the print “Be Pretty” on the surface of the bronzer. Pink Peony, which is a re-promote, has “Be Bold” craved on the bronzer, too. Illuminating bronzers from its permanent lines has got no prints on the surface.

Illuminating Bronzers from the Uber Collection. SO PRETTY.

Illuminating Bronzers from the Uber Collection. SO PRETTY.

 

Initially, I wanted to get both Antigua and Pink Peony, but after trying Antigua on the counter, the supposedly warm, sheer pink-peach  shade turned brown on me after it settled on my skin. Nevertheless, the shimmer in Antigua makes it a very pretty bronzer to wear, indeed. Not a bronzer fan myself, I find brownish blushers or bronzers makes me look dull. It was no doubt that Pink Peony went home with me since I adore pink blushers/bronzers.

Bobbi Brown Pink Peony Illuminating Bronzer is 8grams! I don't know when I can ever use this up!

Bobbi Brown Pink Peony Illuminating Bronzer is 8grams! I don’t know when I can ever use this up!

Pink Peony is a medium deep pink with gold flecks that leans cool on me. This is rather shimmery (which I don’t mind at all), and the tiny gold sparkles does not migrate once applied. Since I have never own a bronzer, this illuminating bronzer confused me, initially. I thought, “Why bother naming it a bronzer when this is a blush? Such a pretty pink! With tiny gold sparkles?? Come on, this ain’t no bronzer?!

3 x Swirling my brush on Pink Peony, and I get this. Colour is definitely easy to build up!

3 x Swirling my brush on my Pink Peony, and I get this. Colour is definitely easy to build up!

Well, I know some people love using bronzers for that healthy, sun-kissed glow, but once this medium deep pink illuminating bronzer is built up, it somehow gives an additional twist where you can definitely look RADIANT + PRETTY + still have that sun-kissed glow. To achieve that, however, I only recommend a heavier hand from you hotties who are NC30 and above. When applied lightly, Pink Peony makes a beautiful blusher for the cheeks.

Me with Pink Peony on, after 7 hours. Forgive my terrible-looking, dehydrated skin! It's menses day, so I will somehow look like SH*T.

Me with Pink Peony on, after 7 hours. Forgive my terrible-looking, dehydrated skin! It’s menses day, so I will somehow look like SH*T.

I wore Pink Peony Illuminating Bronzer to work, and I was happy to see that the colour only faded a little after 8 hours! Now I can “cheat” others into thinking I have used a bronzer in my life! Tee-hee! If you have been afraid of using a bronzer, perhaps you can start with either one since both Antigua and Pink Peony are quite sheer to begin with. The shimmers make the entire look more interesting, and they sure draw some attention to the cheeks, but in a good way – as though you have spread some highlighter to enhance your cheekbones. Try it to believe it!

*This lovely product was bought at Bobbi Brown retail store in Mid Valley, Kuala Lumpur for RM140.*

Have you tried any illuminating bronzers from Bobbi Brown? How are you liking them? Would you get Pink Peony yourself? =)

 

With love,

LY

5 thoughts on “Bobbi Brown Pink Peony Illuminating Bronzer: A bronzer or a blusher?

  1. Most bronzers and blushers with a warm undertone make me look washed out, so I figured I need something with cool undertones. I’m thinking of getting this Pink Peony just because it is cool toned.
    What do you think of the Maui illuminating bronzer is that more warm toned or neutral?

Leave a Reply

