Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow: I will HEART you more if you have MORE shimmer!

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow

My awesome friends and readers would have known by now that I love cream eye shadows more than the powder form. So far, I have only tried a few brands, and their cream eye shadows did not disappoint. This is my first cream eye shadow from Bobbi Brown, and I bought it in an instant when I found the colour is somewhat similar with Chanel Illusion d’Ombre (Initiation) that was released last holiday, but lack the generous amount of shimmer and contains more brown in it.

Left to Right: Bobbi Brown in 2 swipes; Bobbi Brown in 5 swipes, and Chanel Initiation in 1 swipe.

Left to Right: Bobbi Brown in 2 swipes; Bobbi Brown in 5 swipes, and Chanel Initiation in 1 swipe.

I was very disciplined by not getting more cream eye shadows from Bobbi Brown because I wanted to test how well this hold up on my oily lids. Just in case you need to know, none from my circle of buddies that I hang out with have tried any eye colour from Bobbi. Having had a pleasing experience with its eye shadow palette, I decided to get No.16 Beach Bronze, which is a deep bronze shade.

The very little shimmer here does not, however, transfer onto the eye lids, much to the relief to those who despise having shimmer on their lids!

The very little shimmer here does not, however, transfer onto the eye lids, much to the relief to those who despise having shimmer on their lids!

Upon first swatch on my arm, the formula looks pigmented and glides on smoothly. On the lids, however, the colour appears SHEER, and I would need to quickly work on layers as it dries up pretty quickly. Using a dense brush would pick up more colour, but I prefer using my fingers when I use a cream eye shadow so that I could work the depth of colour according to the shape of my eyes. Nonetheless, Beach Bronze is a very pretty colour. Its lightness in pigmentation would be suitable to be used a work or during days where one wants to go a little natural with makeup.

I like the fact that it stays put for hours, and it is crease-resistant with the aid of my current eye primer from Urban Decay (review up soon!). Hotties with dry eye lids, who tend to shy away from pigmented shades or do not like much shimmer on their eye lids, will LOVE this. To prevent from this colour to crease easily on my oily lids in the future, a dab of loose powder over the lids would help, though. For RM98 per pot, I am happy for the amount of a pretty bronze shade I got. Bobbi Brown makes beautiful shades of neutrals, really!

Do you own any cream eye shadows from Bobbi Brown, and how do you like it/them?

With love,

LY

Leave a Reply

