Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate: You love me not!

I have always liked the idea of using facial oils at night instead of slapping on layers of pre-serum, essence, and face moisturizer. Don’t get me wrong, it is not that I see my skin care routine as a chore, but I just don’t buy the idea of putting multiple layers of products on my skin just to get some hydration and rejuvenation. I just want my skin to breathe!!! Since I apply make up every day to work, I need good facial oils that are hydrating enough, not too greasy, and ones that make me look rested. That is just my preference, and if you prefer to layer skin care products on your skin every evening, it’s your choice.

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate comes with a deep blue jar.

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate jar bottle

In 2010 when Kiehl’s launched one of its star product, Midnight Recovery Concentrate (better known as MRC), I was dying to try this night serum/oil. I do not have much issues with my face, but due to lack of sleep (hello, we mommies practically lack beauty sleep), stress, and hormonal changes, my skin can sometimes become dull and parched. I was hopeful that this replenishing elixir of pure essential oils and distilled botanicals will restore the appearance of my skin by morning, as claimed by Kiehl’s. This bottle of essential oil potion that contains key ingredients of lavender, evening primrose oil, and squalane is supposed to regenerate and repair my skin to a healthier, smoother and well-hydrated skin. Being naturally derived and paraben-free, I felt that owning a bottle of this is the beginning of a RECOVERED skin. Who could resist looking healthier and anew every day? After all, a bottle of MRC is being sold every minute globally! WOW, right?

2 pumps every night is all you need, apparently.

2 pumps every night is all you need, apparently.

As much as I wanted to adore this star product, I have to admit that it did not do as claimed when I used this oil ALONE. Bummer! No matter how much or little I applied it, be it massaging, or pressing movements, MRC just doesn’t want to co-operate with my skin! The oil sits on top of my face without absorbing, and I wake up looking greasy. No radiance or whatsoever, much to my distress since I do not look rested.

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Oil being spread all over the hands, fingers and nails.

I was adamant to make this work somehow. Then I decided to add a few drops of my face serum, Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair into MRC oil on my palm. Thanks Paris for this idea! Rub them together and then pressed both palms on the entire face. The warmth of the palm will aid the oil to absorb faster without causing greasiness. That combination, on the contrary, went on very well, but as much as I like what I see in the mirror every morning, I actually preferred face oil that I could use on its own. This combination left me looking plumped and healthy, thanks to Estee Lauder ANR!

I know many people are crazy over MRC, but I am not and I can’t. Some like it for its results but not for its scent, but the lavender scent was not even a problem for me. In fact, I like the scent because it is very relaxing and calming. The formula, on the other hand, just does not blend well with my skin when I use this alone. I have used some facial oils that hydrate and absorb quite well (of course, it being oil-based will leave some sheen or grease on the surface), but this light textured one left me feeling gutted as it just sits on top without absorbing and does not do much for my dehydrated skin either.

MRC fans, good news; now you can do the world some good! By purchasing the special edition Kiehl’s MRC, you can join the movement and help get HIV treatment and loving care to children who need it most.

Have you tried MRC and face the same problem like I do? I don’t know if I am alone because this is raved by many across the blogsphere, but I hope if you are interested to try this, do get a sample before splurging RM220 per bottle. Kiehl’s offers very good sampling policy, and my experience shopping at Kiehl’s has always been pleasant.

With love,

LY

One thought on “Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate: You love me not!

Leave a Reply

