Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation SPF19

 

YSL Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation

YSL Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation

What it is:
A weightless, illuminating foundation.

What it does:
For the first time, the magic light of Touche Éclat is in a foundation with the added benefit of SPF 19 sun protection. Infused in a weightless fluid, this foundation targets shadowy areas and highlights the contours of the face. Free of opaque fillers, its perfecting texture evens the complexion and helps conceal imperfections while enhancing your skin’s natural beauty.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Petrochemicals
– Phthalates
– GMOs
– Triclosan

 

My Shade

There are 22 shades available, and they are classified under 3 undertones: B (beige) for neutral undertone, BR (beige rose) for pink undertone, and BD (beige dore) for golden undertone.

B20

B20

My shade is B20, and it is the perfect match for my face and neck. Although I am using B10 in Chanel Vitalumiere range, B10 has more yellow tone that brightens up my face instantly. The B20 shade for YSL has more beige compared to Chanel’s.

1 pump for a sheer coverage. See how thin and runny it is?

1 pump for a sheer coverage. See how thin and runny it is?

Formulation

Instead of containing opaque fillers found in foundations, this YSL Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation has ‘soft focus gel’ to even the complexion, blur the imperfections without leaving the face looking dull or mask-like.  Although it only comes with SPF19, the lower SPF is actually vital to prevent photography flashback that could leave the face looking too white or having different colour with the neck. Do not rely on the SPF level offered in liquid or powder foundations; they are NOT sunscreen.

 

I like that this comes  with a pump, so hygienic! The pump works well, too!

I like that this comes with a pump, so hygienic! The pump works well, too!

Application & Finish

I use one pump for my entire face (sheer coverage). I prefer to use this SHEER because I like how natural this foundation look on me. Despite its name as an illuminating foundation, it does not have any sparkle or shimmer in it. This has a thin and runny consistency that is quite similar with Guerlain Lingerie de Peau.  This foundation also has a BEAUTIFUL consistency due to the few reasons below:

1. This blends seamlessly without settling into my pores and lines. Looks invisible; no cake face!

2. Having Light-Medium coverage, this does NOT feel heavy on my skin. Totally weightless.

3. Being an illuminating foundation, this somehow gives me a ‘lit from within’, luminous look without being greasy on the skin.

4. This holds up pretty well for 7 hours without face primer / makeup base. With a good base (I have tried it with Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base and Guerlain Meteorites Perles Light-Diffusing Perfecting Primer), the foundation lasts me around 10 hours without any touch ups. I repeat, WITHOUT touch ups. I have never used this for more than 10 hours so far, and I have no reason for that, too.

5. No oxidization at all. Phewwww!

 

It applies like a dream, and it does not hug on dry patches, too!

It applies like a dream, and it does not hug on dry patches, too!

Now I have to say that this illuminating foundation does NOT conceal major acne or redness, but you could do with some imperfections or small tiny zits. It photographs well, besides making the skin look perfectly natural (mind you, not the perfectly flawless!) and giving a second skin-like finish. This illuminating foundation would be great on normal, dry, or dehydrated skin types. Some friends of mine have voiced their concern over this illuminating foundation with Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15, Diorskin Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup SPF 15 and Guerlain Lingerie de Peau SPF20.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

Diorskin Nude Skin-Glowing

Guerlain Lingerie De Peau

I will just share my summary here based on my experience using the other three liquid foundations:

Brand

Finish

Pros

Cons

Chanel Slight matte finish and dries quickly (meaning: must blend quickly with short strokes)

 

Plastic bottle packaging that is good for traveling.

 

Thick gel-like texture.

Faded after 6 hours.

Dior Semi-matte to slight dewy. Lightweight.

Seems to minimize my pores size upon usage.

 

Too dry on the skin for everyday use.

I see NO glow, unfortunately,

Slight oxidization.

 

Guerlain Satin Lightweight, like YSL’s.

Photographs really well.

 

Sometimes may settle into the pores.

 

I love this YSL Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation, and when it was first launched in Singapore, I was counting the days till I got my hands on it! I bought it for SGD75 at Tangs. Will I repurchase this? Hell yeah!

 

Have you tried this foundation or is there an EVERYDAY foundation that you adore?

 

With love,

 

 

LY

4 thoughts on “Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation SPF19

  1. Hi,
    I have to say that I love reading your blog!
    This foundation sounds awesome judging by the reviews I’ve read on them but I’ll pass because I don’t really like foundations with a glowy finish because I have combination-oily skin.
    Have you tried Estee Lauder’s Double Wear before? I got a sample of the new version (I’ve never tried the older formula) and it didn’t oxidise on me at all! I have trouble finding foundations that don’t oxidise (MAC foundation turns orange on me after a couple of hours) so that was a huge bonus for me. It leaves quite a matte finish so I don’t have to powder and the coverage is excellent so I only use a tiny bit. I wore it to my part-time retail job and strangers were complimenting me on my skin haha. And at the end of my 8-hour shift the foundation looked as though it was freshly applied.The only gripe I have with the double wear is that it accentuates any dry patches of skin and it can settle into large pores.
    Anyway lovely blog, I hope to see more posts. Loved the comparison chart that you made, it’s really helpful. Have a great day 🙂

  2. Hi Angela,

    Thanks for your kind words; I will work harder for more awesome posts (hehe), and most importantly, sharing with me about your experience with other foundations that you have tried! Yes, I wouldn’t recommend those with combi-oily skin type to get YSL illuminating foundation for the EXTRA glow already. :-p However, those with dehydrated or dry skin will really benefit from this foundation. =)

    I have tried Estee Lauder’s Double Wear and Double Wear Light before, and I prefer the latter over the former. I agree that you only need a tiny bit, and I also find they both have good coverage. I will review one of them some day. Thank you for reminding me. Hehehe. Oh ya, if you are worried about the dry patches, perhaps you could try to mix their famous Advanced Night Repair (this serum can be used day and night) with the foundation before applying it on your skin? ^_^

  3. Pingback: M.A.C. Natural Radiant Illuminating Makeup Base – Natural Pink | Engaged With Beauty

  4. Pingback: Review: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Foundation No.1 Medium Pink | Engaged With Beauty

Leave a Reply

