Diorific Perfumed Illuminating Powder from Dior Golden Winter Holiday 2013

I must have been naughty and nice this year! For Christmas, I was gifted 001, Rose D’Or (because I am nice) as the Dior SA told me that colour would brighten me overall look, but I wished I was also given the other one, 002 Perle D’Or. Guess I have been naughty as well! *sobs* Anyway, there are only 2 shades available for this Christmas collection as mentioned earlier, and I am very happy to own one of this!

Dior Perfumed Illuminating Powder is so luxurious!

Dior Perfumed Illuminating Powder is so luxurious!

As ecstatic as I was, I came to my senses when I held the compact packaging as I did not want to drop this beauty EVER, or it will give my heart bruises! The gold compact packaging is to DIE for, and it definitely will draw attention when I take this timeless beauty out from my makeup bag. This comes with a black pouch with an additional pocket for its golden brush, which is soft and similar to that one you find in Dior Rosy Glow 001 Petal.

Same brush without the gold colour and the word Dior on it.

Same brush without the gold colour and the word Dior on it.

Upon opening this illuminating powder, I get a 6g product which is a common size of my regular highlighter. Talking about my regular highlighter, till this day, I kick myself every time I thought of Guerlain’s Cruel Gardenia as I miss that out, thinking that I don’t need a highlighter as I thought I have high cheekbones myself and I don’t need to accentuate anything more. Boy, was I damn wrong, and I am glad to be wrong! Chanel’s Poudre de Signee was my very first, and I was finally awakened. Some good highlighters not only give an overall glow to the face or body, but they also add some dimension when the lights hit the face, giving model-like proportions!

Back to this illuminating powder a.k.a. highlighter, it has a gorgeous detail, embossed with bead of Masai necklace, worn by Charlize Theron in the J’adore perfume ad. This illuminating powder is also perfumed with J’adore scent, which is very, very subtle. I have tried using this on my cheeks during the day to show you the lovely sheen it gives. The sheen stays the whole day, and the greatest part was when I tried to wash my hand that has the illuminating powder on, the loads of shimmer are there to stay unless I rub them away! This powder is best used on the cheekbones and decolletage.

My naked face in all its glory, with some zits of course! Can you see the gold shimmer on my cheeks and some on my forehead?

My naked face in all its glory, with some zits of course! Can you see the gold shimmer on my cheeks and some on my forehead?

I would only use this at night for partying or special occasion due to its miniscule shimmer. If I used this during the day, my face would look too shiny. On me, this powder does not have much colour or anything close to rose gold, but the tiny shimmer is certainly beautiful under the light.

Beautiful miniscule shimmer that stays on well

Beautiful miniscule shimmer that stays on well

This is priced at RM265, available at all Dior counters now, while stock lasts. Worthy or not, the gold packaging has a mirror in it, and I could still use this forever even after I have hit the pan! The gold compact is a showstopper, I tell you!

Would you splurge on a beauty like Rose D’Or for that price? Do you have other highlighters that you love?

With love,

LY

Leave a Reply

